Oh! Hell. Not again.

“There are rules here? No, there are no rules here.” Terence Mann, Field of Dreams

Another daily prompt inspires another deviation. This is the promptyou’ve been asked to do a five-minute presentation to a group of young schoolchildren on the topic of your choice. Describe your presentation. My imagination went straight into an (adult) audience member’s reaction to a (work) presentation.

I do appreciate your time today. This is important information for…

Boring the hell out of me. Go away. Stop. Shut up and leave now. I’m not here for…

…some new programs. Hopefully we have fixed…

Nothing! Talking isn’t fixing, it’s just boring. Snore. I don’t need…

…an idea of the benefits by using this one, simple example…

Of a waste of time. Don’t go on. Is this ever going to end? It’s never…

…a good idea to leave it at a single…

Crap load of boring. Can’t you just…

…say before moving on…

That you suck! Stop talking. Blah. Blah. Blah. Shut up. You are…

…from the other side…

Of exciting. Because you are not! Boring as hell, and…

…with good strategies, I find it useful…

To carry an oil soaked rag and a match because I will explode if I have to listen to one more minute of this same stupid…

…overly general information, but it’s a start and better than nothing to have…

Nothing is better than nothing and I want nothing more from you. Will you ever stop blabbing on with…

…another example of…

Nothing. Stop this nonsense now. Don’t…

…narrow this somehow…

Narrow your lips to shut. Good thing I’m getting paid…

…to get the job done. As far as I’m concerned…

I’m not listening.

8 thoughts on “Oh! Hell. Not again.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Show and Tell | Joe's Musings

  2. I used to teach school and often had similar discourse in my head. 🙂 There were days I bored myself, that is when it was time to do something else. Awesome writing Melanie! How could it be anything else? because you are awesome!

    Like

    • Thanks. I was trying something different, as usual, but I don’t know about awesome.
      How long ago did you teach? I can tell in your writing that you have the teaching gene.

      Like

      • I taught for 14 years, 13 I loved the last was a nightmare. It was clearly time to do something else. I do think your writing is awesome, trying something new, being creative is always great, don’t short change yourself. It takes courage to try something new and put it out there. I can see how the corn site really allows you to get more creative! I always look forward to seeing what you come up with!

        Like

  3. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award | Pondering Spawned

There you have it. Your turn.

