Setting The Example

A service tech was scheduled to come to the new company apartment to install the cable and internet, sometime between twelve and four. He didn’t show. It was the perfect opportunity to document some of the qualities I bring to work.

empty apartment

Melanie – Setting The Example

Assimilates quickly into new environments.

apt coffee drink

Visualizes issues from multiple perspectives.

multiple1

Identifies and executes effective methods to meet deadlines.

apt sit

Balances multiple responsibilities while keeping a calm demeanor.

apt coffee head

Functions well without supervision.

apt cartwheel

Shows respect for space.

apt sliding

Remains focused under pressure.

apt reading

Conducts business in multiple environments.

apt phone

Stays calm in stressful situations.

apt nap

And last but not least…

Maintains a healthy work-life balance.

apt lunch

Eventually I’ll have my annual review. It’s only been since September, so it’ll be any day now. I’m confident I’ll be able to demonstrate my worth. I do some weird things, and I hope it stays that way. It’s everyday different with just enough constants to keep it grounded.

31 thoughts on “Setting The Example

    • I’m actually relatively sure no one from my company is reading here. Though I’m confident it’s ok if they do. We’re all a little odd here, and this, cross my fingers, won’t lead to termination.

      Like

  1. I am so envious that you can do handstands, headstands, AND cartwheels. The only thing missing here was you sliding across the floor WHILE doing the whole Bob Seger thing, a la Tom Cruise in Risky Business.

    Like

    • The “shows respect for space” picture was supposed to be that. It was the closest I could get. Timing the timer and the run and the slide proved harder than I realized.

      Like

  2. I wish I could use my workspace as a place to practice gymnastics. Unfortunately my coworkers may not be too impressed with that… If you don’t get the Employee of the Year Award after this I don’t know what is wrong with the world!

    Like

    • If I do find myself searching, I think I’d like to work for the kind of company that could appreciate this. A little bit of silly is encouraged where I work now, or I might have been sitting there totally bored.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Double Oh Seven | Brother Jon's Page

  4. Melanie – this just made my day -:)!

    Greetings from an office in Wellington (yes, I am also part of the ‘cubical nation’)!

    Daniela (of the Lantern Post).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Way to set the bar! I’m going to suggest this as the rubric for my next evaluation–sadly, no cartwheels at this time, but it’s good to have a goal.
    Seriously, great pics and perspective on an afternoon that could’ve been considered a waste of time.

    Like

There you have it. Your turn.

