The Atlanta Ice Rink

I was up until after 1:00 AM making sure my people got indoors and then back up at 6:00 AM to see the state of affairs in Atlanta. It was grim. I peered through the blinds out the back window of my apartment to brake lights spotting the still dark highway.

At 10:30 AM I put on two pairs of pants, three shirts, socks and boots, and coat, hat, scarf, and gloves, and went for a one mile walk. I walked in the opposite direction of my abandoned car. Today is focused on getting those still stuck back home. Tomorrow is to remove the thousands of abandoned cars – some more than five miles from where their driver laid their head last night.

These pictures were taken between 11:00 AM and 12:30 PM, January 29, 2014.

The back yard looks beautiful, like a picture – because I totally prefer to see snow in pictures and not my backyard. The trees and the hill hide the disaster that lays just behind.

snow 2.1

I walked up this hill in high heel boots last night. I will check myself next time I think about complaining about dragging two kids’ bikes up that hill.

snow 2.4

Last night’s footsteps and this morning’s footsteps. I feared a smashed skull slightly less in the proper footwear.

snow 2.5

From where I would have parked my car could I have parked my car anywhere other than the sidewalk a half a mile from my house, and between the trees and the poles, you can see the line of cars still trapped on the interstate.

snow 2.2

Even if I had the gumption to try to get my car out today, it’s not likely I would make it through the mess of cars on the road and in the entrance to my apartment community. My car is around the corner at the top of that hill. There are about fifty abandoned cars and a thick sheet of ice between mine and home.

snow 2.6

I took this picture because holy mother of dumb. For crying out loud, dude. The tow truck in the grass, not the car against the curb – that was actually smart, even if it was an accident. It took the tow truck ten minutes to get back out, and then got stuck again on the ice. I helped some people, but I didn’t help him. He had help, and I couldn’t help but laugh.

snow 2.7

These guys were getting cars out, or turned around and back up the hill and out to the main road. They dragged pieces of carpet from car to car, and when I returned from my walk to the light of day and back, they were moving the last of everyone who was still sitting in their car.

snow 2.8

Normally this would get you killed. Normally being the key word. After I took this picture I waved to the two men, and the one standing on the wall waved back and took my picture. Together we each snapped witness to our witnessing the leftovers from our very own end-of-days drill.

snow 2.10

Just beyond is one small section of the parking lot that the interstate still is.

snow 2.11

Along the way, I met a National Guardsman patrolling the street, offering his help, and eyeing abandoned cars vulnerable to break-in and theft. At least I think he was National Guard. He wasn’t too chatty, but not rude about it, so I snapped a picture of his uniformed butt and went on my way.

snow 2.12

At my turn-around point, the roads were still closed. It was as good a place as any to turn around anyway. I already knew everything I needed to know.

snow 2.9

This is just my tiny little corner of Atlanta. This will go down in history. If you’re an Atlantan, I hope you are indoors.

26 thoughts on “The Atlanta Ice Rink

    • No, you don’t know. No one could have predicted this. It sounded like such a good idea to tell everyone to be on the road home by noon, except that when everyone left at noon, no one could go anywhere.

      Like

  1. I have come to the conclusion the WeatherTards have their heads up their asses and it’s much easier (and far more accurate) to step outside and assess the situation personally. Knowing what would happen if the predictions came true for Atlanta, I think I would have found a way to work from home…

    Like

  2. Keep a bag of kitty litter in your trunk,,,that stuff helps you out of snow and ice. It also helps your car from swerving on the ice. Also,,every fall throw your boots and a warm coat, blanket and a bag of granola bars and fruit juice boxes!
    I’m sorry that you guys are going thru all this but I must admit I am chuckling a little bit, sitting up here in Canada during a snowsquall,,,you silly silly southerners!

    Joking aside, keep safe and warm.

    Like

  3. This is unbelievable. The news in Or. Is saying there was no clue for the people in Atlanta . I am guessing that the city does not have proper equipment like our home states in Midwest. How the heck did you walk that far in heels? I am thankful you made it safely home.

    Like

    • We don’t have the numbers a Northern city has because it snows once every three or so years, but there are 70 trucks in the salt/scrapper fleet and yesterday they called in additional from other parts of the state. What happened was everyone listened and was headed home between Noon and three to beat the storm, and with the ice, the hills, and the inexperience (18-wheelers included) every road everywhere was completely blocked.
      I walked that far because it was the only way home. 🙂 And by that point I had been on my feet all day for a 15 person lunch meeting at work, and then on the brake pedal for over three hours. My feet hurt and the ice was welcome.

      Like

      • Wow, that is crazy, I was without TV or internet for almost 4 days in a remote location visiting a friend. When I returned and turned on the news I couldn’t believe what I was seeing in Atlanta. I am glad you made it home safely.

        Like

        • I’m glad I made it too. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing when I got home. It was a mess. I worked today because I lost Wednesday and half of Thursday.

          Like

    • So many things went wrong that ugly came at supersonic speeds. We are so very lucky there weren’t hundreds of fatalities – and that had way more to do with people helping people than the government systems working to manage the roads before and during storm. It was the people opening their homes, pushing cars like I did, or walking around with a wagon full of bananas and water for stranded folks that saved the day. Days. We’re in day 3, and not quite through the mess yet.

      Like

  4. Dear lord, I didn’t know it was that bad. The picture of your heel prints made me remember the time I got caught in a freak autumn snow storm in Chicago. What would have ordinarily been a 50 minute drive home from work for me ended up taking four hours, and by the time I arrived home, I had to “park” my car in the middle of my street. I walked back to my apartment wearing a silk skirt and ballet flats.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Calling it a Snow Day | This Is My Corn

There you have it. Your turn.

