18/36

Don’t be afraid to get personal. … Show us your truth’s journey. We want to walk this mile with you. … Have fun and be brilliant — just like always. Rawr!

Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave your shoes at the door

shoes 1

18.

She wakes up every morning full of the disdain common to all teenagers, and dresses for school: jeans, two t-shirts, boots. Most days she stays all day. It’s her final semester of high school, and she doesn’t care too much for the force to college, although she has already complete duel-enrollment courses at the local community college, though mostly for photography classes and access to better darkrooms. Her day classes are time-spenders: time spent as required, though all required credits are satisfied. She daydreams. There will be no bowing to the expectations of society, no marriage or children, no settling into homeownership. At graduation, she falls into a rabbit hole.

shoes 2

36.

She wakes up every morning two hours before she has to get ready for work, and drinks coffee and reads the news, then slips into a dress, tights, and heels. Most days she works more than she should. She’s out of the marriage, but her children live with their father, and every evening she comes home to her apartment, where she will soon renew her lease. The rabbit hole is home. She cleans and reads and writes, and sometimes she looks into graduate school, were it not for the student loans, still with the student loans. Weekends she goes somewhere, climbing out and back in to herself. There is no rabbit hole.

*****

Thank you Rara! I haven’t done one of these in a while. 🙂

16 thoughts on “18/36

  1. Pingback: Upstaged by sunrise | litadoolan

  2. I meant to comment on this the other day, but I forgot. Sorry. I really liked this one. It’s not often you find instances where optimism is gained instead of lost. I think this shows that. Really great!

    Like

    • You can comment anytime Jon. I do appreciate your words. 🙂
      I’m glad you found optimism in this. Quite honestly, I had to read it again a few times to see it myself. I didn’t have that in mind when I was writing, only that the me of now is the opposite of what the me of then visualized. Thank you! 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Laptop Fever [FLASH FICTION] | Ramisa the Authoress

  4. Pingback: There’s a Snake in My Couch Part I : A Mom’s Point of View | mariestephensgardening

There you have it. Your turn.

