Emergency Appointment

Copyright - Ted Strutz

Copyright – Ted Strutz

The thought I’m lucky I’m even here crossed my mind as I watched the hygienist busy herself, straightening and re-straightening what was already in place, avoiding eye contact after I answered the question: “What brought you in today?”

I thought it was obvious – several missing teeth – so I shared how I lost my teeth. No one likes to hear “my husband punched me in the face.”

It was a normal enough question, and expected, and I already had an excuse given to me, but that’s not the answer I gave. I was supposed to say I fell down the stairs.

*****

100 words. Feedback appreciated. Unfortunately this is life-inspired fiction. My ex-husband never knocked out any of my teeth, but I wouldn’t have put it past him to try. For those who may be unfamiliar with my story, there are pieces available on Deliberate Donkey.

*****

Your love, help, and support is still needed for Rara and Grayson: also known as The Queen CreativePosting Tuesdays, and Rarasaur. Help is needed, if you can. Learn more at #RawrLove.

What story comes to mind when you see that picture? Join inFriday Fictioneers is a weekly blog link-up based on a photo prompt. The Challenge – write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle, and end. (No one will be ostracized for going a few words over the count.) The Key – make every word count.

*****

*Featured and Post Image Copyright – Ted Strutz
**The ads (which may appear) below are not mine, but they keep this free for me. Do with them as you choose.

41 thoughts on “Emergency Appointment

    • Thank you Matt! I really wanted a different story, but you know how stories are: Once they take hold, there’s no going back.

      Like

      • Yep, I do know that.
        Kind of funny, actually, people have been requesting I write “happier” things, and I tell them “I’ll see what I can do.” But, yeah, all I can really do is go where the words take me…

        Like

        • I believe if the story is to be good, the story has to be in charge of itself. Forcing anything upon it just ruins it. I hope you find your happy story soon. 🙂 Heck, I hope I find another happy story soon (or rather that a happy story finds me).

          Like

            • WWRD has been my mantra ever since I met her. As a not particularly religious, but spiritual person, I look to people like her to give me the example and strength to keep going in a way that benefits the world.

              Like

            • You know, I just might. I’ve wanted to contribute, but I’ve struggled as to how. Let me put some thoughts together and I’ll send you an email. 🙂

              Like

            • Perfect!
              (My yahoo email is “broken” – the app doesn’t work on my phone anymore so I only get emails at night when I finally sit down and turn on my computer.) Send an email to qorawr at gmail dot com. I’m monitoring that addy today.

              Like

            • Will do. It’ll be later tonight after work, tho with east coast to west coast time change, you’ll probably be just about finished with your work day.

              Like

  1. A sad story was written, But I would venture that it happens all to often. But it does get the message out there.

    Like

    • It does give some relief. I wrote about it factually for quite some time and that helped too – until my ex found it and started harassing me.

      Like

    • Thank you Maree! That’s just what I was going for: confronting (without being overly blunt) and thought-provoking. Thank you for telling me! 🙂

      Like

    • Unfortunately I didn’t tell the cops. As a result he got custody. I did tell my family, and they were a big part of helping me escape. Once I left, I started telling the world (much to his chagrin). Thank you for reading Patrick.

      Like

  2. Dear Melanie, I am so sorry that you have had to endure the S.O.B. for years and he has custody of the kids? How do men get away with this – unless they own the judicial system in a town. Soon, he will get his due, I hope. Bless your heart and I’m hoping that soon you will get custody of your children back. How can this happen? Nan 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Nan.
      I didn’t call the cops and I didn’t endure enough abuse. According to the judge, what I “alleged” I experienced wasn’t significant enough to leave “without the father’s knowledge or permission”. Everything I did to protect us was used against me. He charmed the judge, as he had charmed me years earlier. I’m not the only one to go before this judge with a divorce from domestic violence and lose custody. My theory is the judge is a wife-beater himself, but that’s more for my peace-of-mind than based on any fact.

      Like

  3. Bittersweet. Sounds like (hopefully) the start of something better for this woman. Hope she follows through. Glad you got out. Interesting take on the challenge and a very different angle on this picture. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Melanie, Heartbreaking story and I’m so sorry it’s true. Hopefully your children will find out the truth and he’ll eventually lose them, if not now, later. He may very well lead a lonely life when he’s old. That judge should be removed from the bench, but who knows how well connected he is. I hope everything works out well for you. —Susan

    Like

    • Thank you Susan.
      That judge is a typical judges – uninterested in the cases he’s charged with hearing and as corrupt as they all seem to be. He has four more years on the bench until he runs for reelection. I’ll be supporting his opponent.

      Like

      • Good for you! It could be your husband just had a better lawyer also. I understand that has a lot to do with it. Maybe you can find a good one to work pro bono for you. See if you can find a good woman lawyer. She might tend to see it more from your point of view. —Susan

        Like

        • He has a much more expensive lawyer, and it put him into bankruptcy. I’m on my third lawyer since this all started. They make big promises to start, then seem to fall into the darkness.

          Like

There you have it. Your turn.

