The Guest of Surprise

Weekly Writing Challenge: Gone, but not forgotten: “Show us something that is lost, but not forgotten … show us what ‘gone, but not forgotten’ means to you.”

It was a Fall day, not unlike other mid-October weekends. The sun was shining, the temperature was rising, and the breeze was just right to bring the fresh air throughout the house. I went through opening the windows I like to open on just such a day, starting in the dining room, moving to the kitchen, then through the living room before going to the window in my bedroom.

And this little guy hopped up to say HI!

lizard1

And I jumped about ten feet, then rushed to slam the window shut so he could either leave by the hole he came in through, or die trying.

lizard2

He’s gone now, but, like the snake of 2013, he is in no way forgotten, and new protocol is in place for window-opening days.

snake2013

*****

*Featured Image and Post Images – Copyright Melanie (WritingInBoots)
**The ads (which may appear) below are not mine, but they keep this free for me. Do with them as you choose.

12 thoughts on “The Guest of Surprise

    • I know! You’d think I lived in a forest, not the city. I don’t know what I was thinking stopping for a picture, except these are the freak moments I photograph because unbelievable.

      Like

    • I don’t mind them when I’m on vacation somewhere tropical. Home not so much. Plus, I really did him a favor. The bugs inside are dead or dying from pest control chemicals. I was helping him maintain an organic diet. 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: Steve: The Apple (Orange) of My Eye | Ramisa the Authoress

There you have it. Your turn.

