Vardaman

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly blog link-up led by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields at Addicted to PurpleThe Challenge – write a one hundred word (plus or minus) story with a beginning, middle, and end inspired by the picture. The Key – make every word count.

The picture is worth a thousand words. These are another one hundred.

*****pleisiosaur_

Visitors come and go. It is understood the homeowner tolerates the traffic— the sculpture being a spectacle of the Heritage House. Some pay attention. Most do not.

“Come close,” it says. “I have a story for you.”
But sculptures cannot speak.
“Do tell,” you reply.
“First you must answer a question,” it says.
Like a bridge troll.
“Do ask,” you reply.
“My mother is a fish,” it says. “Who am I?”
Your mother is a fish. You are a fish.
“I know,” you reply.
“Do tell,” it says.
I am speaking to a sculpture.
“You are the son of Addie.”

*****

100 words. Prose Poem (with reference to William Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying). Feedback is always appreciated. Comments of any kind really — so long as they are related to the post. Click below to read other creative contributions. ↓

*Image Copyright © Douglas M. MacIlroy
**The ads (which may appear) below are not mine, but they keep this free for me. Do with them as you choose.

15 thoughts on “Vardaman

  1. Son of Addie?According to google Addie is a 5,000 year old Hebrew name that means “Son of Adam:man of the Red Earth” and according to She Knows http://www.sheknows.com/baby-names/name/addie : “People with this name are excited by change, adventure, and excitement. They are dynamic, visionary and versatile, able to make constructive use of freedom. They fight being restricted by rules and conventions. They tend to be optomistic, energetic, intelligent, and to make friends easily. They may be changeable, restless, untidy, and rebellious.

    That sounds like a pretty neat fish who would make a good friend. Here fishy, fishy fishy. Ha!

    He needs to put on some weight.

    Like

    • Addie is a good, strong name, and not one that is common anymore. In this story, Addie refers to Addie Bundren, who’s youngest son is Vardaman in the book As I Lay Dying.
      I think he probably is a neat fish. I would hang out and listen, for sure.

      Like

  2. If I came across this sculpture, I would want to have conversations with it, too. I almost did a similar take where anyone who touched the sculpture would reveal something unexpected. Very original, Melanie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would step close and listen, too, wondering what kind of story and how is it talking.
      I like that idea about revealing something unexpected. I like what you did too, bringing it up from the deepest depths. There is something fantastical about this fish.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Vardaman is the youngest son of Addie Bundren in As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner, and his most famous line in the book is, “My mother is a fish.” So when the fish says that and asks who he is, he is Vardaman, Addie’s son. Does that help? I struggled with this one, but couldn’t let go of the line “my mother is a fish.”

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I like the interplay of dialogue and self-reflective thoughts by the onlooker. I also like how you set the scene at the heritage house in the first paragrtaph. This leads on to all sorts of possibilities – the fish does seem to have some power to make those who stop to look at it really ‘see’. Fascinating.

    Liked by 1 person

There you have it. Your turn.

