Carousel House

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly blog link-up led by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields at Addicted to PurpleThe Challenge – write a one hundred word (plus or minus) story with a beginning, middle, and end inspired by the picture*. The Key – make every word count.

The picture is worth a thousand words. These are another one hundred.

*Image Copyright © Dee Lovering

unnamed

Carousel House

“I promised her a party at the carousel house.”

“But,” I stopped. Snow swirled around our silence.

We stood together, shoulder to shoulder, holding hands, shivering in the cold, staring at the mounded earth covered with flowers as frozen in time as the child beneath.

“I’ll get some balloons,” I said, “and put them by the entrance.” Her shoulders relaxed; our tears released.

“What if no one comes,” she asked. I saw in her eyes both hope and fear that no one would come.

“It’s different,” I said. “A birthday party rather than a memorial. It’s fitting. People will come.”

*****

100 words. Fiction. Feedback is always appreciated. Comments of any kind really — so long as they are related to the post. Click below to read other creative contributions.

******
The ads (which may appear) below are not mine, but they keep this free for me. Do with them as you choose.

30 thoughts on “Carousel House

  1. Celebrate the life they lived. It’s how we do funerals in my family… Dang… wish I’d had balloons at my husband wake! (He did get the chicken wings and beer he wanted!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Grace. I appreciate the nod. I don’t qualify for this award though, so I’m going to pass on accepting it. I’ve been blogging for five years now. Good luck with your blog. WordPress is a great place to be. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

There you have it. Your turn.

